WineBoard
Vouvray? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Vouvray? (/thread-16368.html)

- cheeps - 01-26-2004

I am very new to wines. I bought a couple books, about a dozen different wines that either the books or people who know a little bit about wine recommended to me, and I'm starting to try them and see what I can learn. Anyway, I bought a bottle of Marc Bredif Vouvray, 2001. Everything I've read about Vouvray says it can be dry, semi-dry, or sweet. I haven't tried mine yet because I don't know which it is. Because of that I almost didn't buy it, but I'm curious about the taste, so I did. As much as I looked tho, I couldn't see anything amongst the various bottles to indicate what each one was. How do you tell? TIA!

Lisa

- Innkeeper - 01-26-2004

Vouvray is a Loire Valley (France) wine made from chenin blanc. Many believe that it is the finest presentation of chenin blanc in the world, though there may be some people in South Africa that would have a word or two to say about it. Vouvray is normally slightly off dry. Goes great with fish or chicken dishes with a little sweetness in the sauce. You can find some details, though nothing about the level of sweetness, about this wine at this site: http://www.mmdusa.net/NewFiles/bredif/vouvray.html

- Tastevin - 01-27-2004

Hello Cheeps.
Yes, Vouvray comes in dry (sec), medium sweet (demi-sec), sweet (moelleux), sparkling (petillant). Demi-sec is the classic style. Is there no clue on the front label, or back label (if there is one)? Otherwise, why not ask the shop? After you've drank it let us know what you thought of it. Don't forget to chill it. T

- cheeps - 01-27-2004