WineBoard
Kiona '99 - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Kiona '99 (/thread-16240.html)

- Becky Lock - 11-24-2001

I am very new to wines and recently had a bottle of Kiona '99 cab/metlot blend and enjoyed it very much. I was wondering if you could tell me a little about the wine i.e., price, availability, etc. It was the first time I saw a cab/merlot blend.

- Drew - 11-25-2001

Becky, welcome and welcome to the world of blends, the French have been doing it for centuries. Kiona is a Washington State winery that produces above average to excellent wines and has won quite a few medals since opening in 1975. You can find the Cab/merlot blend in the $10 to $15 range.

Kiona Vineyards and Winery
44612 N. Sunset NE, Benton City, WA 99320
Phone: (509) 588-6716
Hours: daily noon-5pm
Tasting: yes
Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, White Riesling, Merlot, Lemberger

Somer other Cab/merlot and blends to track down and try are:

Greg Norman Cab/merlot (Australia)
Rosemount Shiraz/Cab (Australia)
Penfolds Koonunga Hill Shiraz/Cab (Australia)
Hedges "Three vineyards" Cab/merlot (Washington State)
Kendall Jackson "Collage" (Calif)

Drew

[This message has been edited by Drew (edited 11-25-2001).]

- Innkeeper - 11-25-2001

Glad to hear your '99 cabernet/merlot blend drank well. We have two '97 Kiona Cabernets in the rack that we planned to hold till '03. Maybe we can move that schedule up.

[This message has been edited by Innkeeper (edited 11-25-2001).]

- Drew - 11-25-2001

IK, here's a little more on their wines.

http://www.winepressnw.com/woehler/1999/040799.html

Drew

- Innkeeper - 11-25-2001

OK, maybe I won't adjust the schedule. For our novice pals, this is an abject lesson that the aging game is an endless learning process.

- zenda2 - 11-25-2001