WineBoard
Need help in selecting a white wine - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Need help in selecting a white wine (/thread-16065.html)

Pages: 1 2

- culinart - 03-14-2003

First off let me say that this is a very well put together board, especially having a Novice section. As you can see i am new here and i am new to wines as well. Not to say that I have not drank wine before but I fall into the group of ppl who buy wine and dont understand the differences from one grape variety to the other...their r so many afterall!

My question is however, I recently finished a Wolf Blass Riesling and found it to be avg. I dont really know the difference betw a riesling and a chardonnay, but correct me if I am wrong but are chardonnays generally more heavier and full bodied compared to a riesling? I would like a white wine that has a more diverse and complex flavor, can anyone recommend one? Price range , i would say betw $10-$20 (canadian funds)
I find leftover white wines great for making alfredo sauce and adding to my pasta sauces in a reduction manner. I like red wines to drink overall (as oppose to white wine) but for now i need some suggestions to a good, interesting white wine.

Thanks for any help,

=D

- Innkeeper - 03-15-2003

There are the three Vs from Italy that offer what you are looking for. They are in the order I like them Vermentino, Verdicchio, and Vernaccia. All can be found in the low end of your price range.
I have enjoyed Vermentino even with heavy dishes, such as haddock in cream sauce.