WineBoard
Port life - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Port life (/thread-15931.html)

- generalken - 06-16-2004

My question is in reference to ports. How long, on average, will a port remain good after it is opened. Does it hang around like a wine would. I have very little experience with ports, other than having them in some nicer resturants. But, I find them very intriguing. I would hate to open a bottle and have it go bad before I could drink all or most of it.

- Brom - 06-16-2004

It is recommended that vintage ports be drunk within a day of opening.

Tawny & Ruby ports may be held for as much as 4-6 weeks after opening.

Rule of thumb - the better the wine, the better to finish early.

- winoweenie - 06-16-2004

Hi GK. I've had the pleasure of meeny vintage ports and find that with the help of " Private Preserve" they will keep on keepin'-om for a week if kept in the fridge. Lots of posts on this subject. WW

- generalken - 06-17-2004

At what temp. should a port be stored prior to opening and is it the same temp for storage after it has been opened?

- generalken - 06-17-2004

Yesterday I stopped by the liquor store and bought some wine and I took some time to gaze in the port section (very unfamiluar territory). I did recognize one of the brand names mentioned in another post on this site. It was Cockburn's. However, the one that they had was not $50. It was Cockburn's Tawny Port and it sold for $11.50. There was nothing on the bottle to indicate its age except the word "Tawny" if that's any indication at all.

When I opened it, it was a pale pink and had the consistancy of regular wine. I was expecting a heavy, nutty, thick golden contents. The taste was fine, rather thin, but it was not what I thought I was getting. Any thoughts...?

- wondersofwine - 06-17-2004