WineBoard
Wedding wine selection help - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Wedding wine selection help (/thread-15854.html)

Pages: 1 2

- anabanana - 12-14-2004

My fiance and I are supplying our own alcohol for our wedding in the Spring. Being light social drinkers, this board was a great find! What would you suggest for a lunch reception with beef, chicken, and fish for 80 adults?

Please kindly suggest sparkling wine/champagne under $20 -- is Chandon or Roederer good choices? Only considering CA/WA regions for personal reasons.

We will be providing a red and a white wine, but not sure what most of our guests would prefer. Merlot or Cabernet? Chardonay or Sauvignon Blanc? Any good CA/WA selections under $10?

Total novice here, hopefully there's enough info here to get your expertise knowledge to please our guests! Thanks!

- wondersofwine - 12-14-2004

Welcome to the Board.

I hope others will respond to your request. I like the idea of Sauvignon Blanc with fish or chicken. Some Chardonnay wines are too oaky tasting from aging in wood or having oak chips soaking in them during processing to pair well with food. It would be easier to recommend Sauvignon Blanc at under $20 a bottle than the $10 figure. My favorite California Sauvignon Blanc is from St. Supery and is about $14 or $15 at some stores. Honig is also nice and is listed at about $12 to $15 on wine-searcher.com. Try to find one that is not aged in wood.