WineBoard
how to legally sell? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: how to legally sell? (/thread-15835.html)

- terrbear - 01-13-2004

I am fairly new to winemaking and brand new to this post, but I believe that I have made a wine that is sellable,(at least that is what many aquaintences have said). I need to know what paperwork is involved, how to properly label the bottles,(ie.design and printing) and what other things are involved to determine if it is feasable. I already have two boutiques that are willing to carry my wine. thanks, terrbear

- winoweenie - 01-13-2004

Hi Terrbear and welcome to the board. Foodie had a winery in NY and we have visits from many wine people. Once you realize the paperwork, legalities, and dealing with the gov't beaurocrocies you'll probably want to give it away or drink it. Good Luck. WW

- wineguruchgo - 01-13-2004

Hi Terrbear,

Welcome to the wineboard!

My advice to you would be to contact your local BATF (Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms). That is the bureau that regulates the sale of alcohol.

Understand though that this is a huge investment on your part. How much are you making? This could end up costing you a small fortune.

Being a beaucratic process, you might be subject to inspections, legal fees, copyrights for the name. In addition, they are going to want to know the amount of alcohol in the wine. If it's over 15% then you are moved into the port section and the tax will be higher.

I know companies who have spent 10's of thousands on just lables to satisfy BATF.

Look into it but be prepared to be shocked/disappointed. Giving it to friends as gifts might be your best bet.

- hotwine - 01-13-2004