WineBoard
I'm curious to know - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: I'm curious to know (/thread-15777.html)

- bskough - 02-23-2010

I'm pretty new to the entire world of wine, but I am loving the adventure. I went to the Central Coast in CA for a weekend of tasting and had so much fun. I had a question that I couldn't get a response for. I'm also having a hard time finding the answer on the internet so I thought I would ask some experts. If you look at these wines (to follow) how would you rank them by body (like lightest body to heaviest body)? For me this matters as I'm tasting. I want to know if what I'm tasting is what I should be tasting. And I know body has more to do with feel and that there are a million other factors going on that affect what I'm tasting, but I would still love to have an answer for this question. So could somebody please take a little time and rank these wines from lightest to most full bodied? Thank you very, very much.

Reds

Cabernet Franc
Cabernet Sauvignon
Grenache
Malbec
Merlot
Petite Sirah
Pinot Noir
Sangiovese
Syrah
Zinfandel

Whites

Chardonnay
Chenin Blanc
Gewurztraminer
Pinot Grigio
Riesling
Sauvignon Blanc
Semillon
Viognier

- andrawes76 - 02-23-2010

Now this is a great question... Foodie? These are my educated (or not so) guess based on my experience... It really depends the terroir, on the producer and the style. I have had really woodsy Cab Franc with incredible body and one that was smooth as silk... Whites are a bit more difficult for me as body can be masked by sweetness.

Reds
Cabernet Sauvignon
Malbec
Cabernet Franc
Grenache
Merlot
Syrah
Zinfandel
Petite Sirah
Pinot Noir
Sangiovese

Whites

Chardonnay
Sauvignon Blanc
Riesling
Gewurztraminer
Pinot Grigio
Viognier
Chenin Blanc
Semillon

- wondersofwine - 02-23-2010