WineBoard
Vegetarian Meal - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: Wine/Food Affinities (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-4.html)
+--- Thread: Vegetarian Meal (/thread-150.html)

- Sutcliffe - 10-30-2001

I am planning a vegetarian meal to cook when a dear friend of mine comes to visit in a few weeks. I was leaning towards a broccoli lasagna with garlic potato cakes. Now I personally know next to nothing about wine or vegetarian food, and I'm a pretty amateur cook at that. I am only a student so this is a relatively limited budget too. I am mainly looking for advice on a readily available wine that would go with this meal, but any dinner suggestions would be welcome too.

- mrdutton - 10-30-2001

Maybe IK should take this one on for size!!

- Innkeeper - 10-30-2001

Hi Sutcliffe, and welcome to the Wine Board. First of all, don't like the idea of the potatoes with the pasta. Even though there is broccoli in the pasta, vegetables and/or salad would be better.

Wish you had mentioned what kind of sauce would be in the lasagne. If it is a white sauce, go with the biggest Pinot Grigio you can find (at least 13% alcohol). A light Italian red such as Bardolino or Valpolicella would also work.

If you have a red sauce, go with one of the high acid Italian reds (to neutralize the tomatoes) such as Salice Salentino, Chianti, or Barbera d'Asti.

- Sutcliffe - 10-31-2001