WineBoard
Old wines - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: TASTING NOTES & WINE SPECIFIC FORUMS (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-200.html)
+--- Forum: Wines Without a Category (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-37.html)
+--- Thread: Old wines (/thread-14612.html)

- Bill and Bonner - 02-20-1999

I am working on a wine auction catalog. Someone has donated eleven bottles of random wines. How do I find out what they are and their value? I have wines from 1958 to 1983 to research.

- Joe Schmoe - 02-21-1999

If any of these wines are European, I might be able to help. OId Californian wine aren't my forte. VERY difficult to get hold of here...

JW

- Bill and Bonner - 02-23-1999

JW - Thanks for your willingness to help the total novice! I can type, so I'm in charge - sound like a non-profit fund raiser to you? Anyhow, here are the European Wines I'm looking for: 1972 Cotes du Rhone, La Vieille Ferme; 1964 Argentine Trupeter, Cabernet; and a 1983 Chateau Haut Brion, Graves Premier Grand Cru Classi. Once again thanks for your help.

- Joe Schmoe - 02-23-1999

I'm afraid that the 1972 CdR has probably had it. Good, but entry level wine in this category. This vintage was extremely patchy in the Southern Rhone, with some stunning age worthy attempts from the Chateauneuf du Pape big guns. Alas, this little .38 Special has seen better days. Suck it and see.

The Argentine wine is anybody's guess. I have heard some amazing stories about Cabs produced in South America that are still going strong due to the suprb old vines from which they are made. Good or awful, I'm afraid that this wine isn't worth much.