WineBoard
David Coffaro - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: Rants & Raves (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-12.html)
+--- Thread: David Coffaro (/thread-13211.html)

- Kcwhippet - 01-18-1999

I have zero experience with this winery. However, I was speaking with a friend out in WA this weekend, and he was raving about them. He had picked up some Zins, Cab and Carignan from them as futures and tasted them all the other day. He said they were all fabulous - lots of fruit with some non-intrusive oak. Sounded interesting. Anyone out there have anything to say about them?

Bob

- Bucko - 01-18-1999

Bob, I have several cases of Coffaro wines in my cellar. His ZPC, Zin, Estate Cuvee and Petite Sirah are my favorites. Incredibly good QPR wines.

Bucko

- Woodman - 01-18-1999

I have only six bottles of Coffaro in my "cellar", but I'll second Bucko. David Coffaro is a former home winemaker who went commercial. As a result, he tends to "overtinker" with his blending IMNSHO, but whatever he's doing it works, though I think it would work just as well if he blended a little less. The man gets more varieties into one wine than anyone else I can think of.

That said, he has a fruit-forward bent, and that works as well. Extremely tasty wines, available as futures every year for next to nothing from his website at www.coffaro.com.

- Kcwhippet - 01-19-1999

Thanks for the feedback, Bucko and Wood. I went to his website last night - great diary and I saw Bucko mentioned in there. It's quite an insight into the workings of a small winery - very entertaining and informative. I think we'll give it a try.

Thanks again,
Bob

- tomstevenson - 01-19-1999