WineBoard
A good merlot? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: RESOURCES AND OTHER STUFF (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-300.html)
+--- Forum: Best Buys/Steal Deals (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-11.html)
+--- Thread: A good merlot? (/thread-12276.html)

- jrahl - 12-13-2000

I am a total novice when it comes to wine but especially Merlot. I would like to give a bottle of merlot to a friend for the holidays but I am not sure of what a "good" merlot is. I am looking in the $25-$30 range and the person I am giving it to know wines quite well. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Jason Rahl

- winoweenie - 12-13-2000

Hi Jason and welcome to the board.How`s the weather up yonder? Oh well back........See if your local wine store has the St. Francis Merlot 98 or the St. Francis Merlot Reserve 97. Both are tasty suckers and should be in the price range. winoweenie

- Drew - 12-13-2000

Hey Verne.....the St. Francis Reserve is $40 everywhere here in good ole' Baltimore area.
Try the Swanson, Blackstone Napa, Clos Pegase, or Silverado all 1997 merlots.
Drew

- winoweenie - 12-14-2000

And How`s your weather Drewskie? Had to wear long pants here today. WW

- Blue - 12-14-2000

If you want to go French, you can find a Bottle of Chateau Font Villac from St Emillion for about $17 dollars in most of the country...nice and easy to drink this wine is a great base St. Emillion (100% Merlot). I suggest you look at the wines from St. Emillion...if you are looking to spend a little more, try the Chateau Canon-La Gafelliere.

-Blue (Why buy Californian when you can have better wine from France?)

- Drew - 12-14-2000

If you had to wear long pants then you know what I'm wearing....can you say survival suit? Ice, rain, and more ice, God I hate winter!

Drew

- Innkeeper - 12-14-2000

We had three inches of beautiful snow here today. Lord, how we love it.

- winoweenie - 12-14-2000