WineBoard
wine with chicken? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: Wine/Food Affinities (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-4.html)
+--- Thread: wine with chicken? (/thread-1223.html)

- ceejay1117 - 03-21-2000

My friend is having a dinner party I am bringing the wine ,she will be sevring chicken breast stuffed with crab. What wine should I bring?

- Innkeeper - 03-21-2000

Would go for a Lower Burgundy Chardonnay such as Saint Veran. They range in price from $10 - $20. Consult your local merchant.

- mrdutton - 03-21-2000

I was going to start you with a nice chardonnay from Chablis and then suggest as some alternatives either a French Viognier or a German Riesling Spatlese. I have some minor experience with the Chablis and the Viognier but none with the Riesling.

I think the key here is with the crab and not the chicken.

But never-the-less, Innkeeper's point is salient. Consult with your local wine merchant.

[This message has been edited by mrdutton (edited 03-21-2000).]

- Scoop - 03-22-2000

A refreshing Albarino (the "n" in Albarino should have a ~) from Spain (Rias Baixas) would be an interesting accompaniment. They are dry with bracing acidity and great tropical fruit notes, good with both chicken and seafood.

Scoop

- Randy Caparoso - 03-22-2000

As pointed out, chicken in itself is a wine-flexible dish; but the key to this particular match is the crabmeat, which has faintly sweet/minerally/saline taste. Higher alcohol white wines -- such as Viognier and Napa or Sonoma Chardonnays -- tend to be exacerbated by dishes with crab; the wines ending up tasting hot and/or harsh, and the food puny. Therefore, easier matches would be lighter, crisper, dry or off-dry whites.