WineBoard
Trip to Germany Planned - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: TASTING NOTES & WINE SPECIFIC FORUMS (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-200.html)
+--- Forum: Germany/Alsace/Wines/Varieties (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-23.html)
+--- Thread: Trip to Germany Planned (/thread-11151.html)

- zakam - 10-01-1999

Hi All, I am new to German wines and my husband will be traveling in Germany in November and would like some direction and advice on buying German wines. We are strong California wine buyers and our cellar is full except for German wines. I do not like a very sweet wine and have been turned off by some of the german wines suggested to my by local salesmen. Any suggestions and/or comments would be appreciated. Thanks, Lori

- Randy Caparoso - 10-02-1999

Lots of information is available through the German Wine Information Bureau in New York. Their phone number is (212) 896-3336. Address is 245 Fifth Ave., Suite 2204, NY 10016.

The best German wine country guide that I know of is A Traveller's Guide to Germany by Kerry Brady Stewart, published by Interlink Books in New York (you'd have to call information for numbers).

Finally, for a good introduction to the classics, take a peek at my brief summary in the Novices section ("Afraid to Experiment"). It always helps to stick to the best vineyards, which are very well known. As you will find when you get there, virtually all the vineyards in Germany were first planted by the Romans, or at least by the 12th century. Riesling has ruled in the best vineyards since the 18th century. So the best German wines are really no secret; and the great winemaking families still there have generally been in business for 100 to 300 years!

- Thomas - 10-02-1999

I'd like to add that you will discover how the locals over the centuries learned to pair their cooking with their wines, or the other way round.