WineBoard
Eiswein - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: TASTING NOTES & WINE SPECIFIC FORUMS (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-200.html)
+--- Forum: Germany/Alsace/Wines/Varieties (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-23.html)
+--- Thread: Eiswein (/thread-11125.html)

- hal633 - 01-19-2005

I am looking to find out the names of the best Eiswein makers in Germany. I'm looking on the behalf of my boss...I myself am clueless about this type of wine. Anyone know who these individuals may be? Your help is greatly appreciated.

- wondersofwine - 01-19-2005

Welcome to the board.
I have limited recent experiences with German Eiswein. (I used to be able to afford the .375 ml bottles on occasion when I lived in Germany more than a decade ago.) One I have liked recently is the Weingut Karlsmuhle Lorenzhofer (Ruwer River tributary so a Mosel-Saar-Ruwer wine). Highly praised are the Donnhoff Oberhauser Brucke Eisweins. Doubt you could go wrong with them (Nahe region of Germany). Other worthy producers are Dr. von Basserman-Jordan from the Pfalz and Reinhold Haart and Dr. Loosen from the Mosel region. These are just a few. Eiswein depends on certain weather conditions in the late fall and risking leaving grapes on the vines until a solid frost when rain or other things could ruin the crop. Also the grower needs to have pickers ready to pick the grapes while still frozen. Therefore, some vintages do not produce many Eisweins and not all vintners make an Eiswein every year. I believe Donnhoff is one that usually offers one or more Eisweins each year.

[This message has been edited by wondersofwine (edited 01-19-2005).]

- winoweenie - 01-19-2005

In the great Eiswein vintages it's hard to find a bad producer. Some of the more prominant are Dr. Fisher, Van Shubert, Schales, and Aschrott. WW

- hal633 - 01-20-2005